The Roundtable

The Potomac Watershed Roundtable is a regional government-citizen forum whose purpose is to promote collaboration and cooperation on environmental concerns, especially water quality issues, among the various local governments and stakeholder interest groups residing within the Virginia side of the middle and lower Potomac River watershed.

About the Potomac Watershed Roundtable

The Potomac Watershed Roundtable and Potomac Council receive funding from the Environmental Protection Agency's Section 117 Chesapeake Bay Implementation Grant at the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), via grant contract number 16318.

Information sharing is an important component of the Roundtable meetings. Members learn about local strategies and programs throughout the region that address water quality issues. At each Roundtable meeting, members are encouraged to bring to the table issues of local and regional importance.

The Roundtable was launched in the fall of 2000 by the six soil and water conservation districts in the region. The Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation provides funding and assistance. Ten state and federal agencies assist the Roundtable as non-voting members.

The Officers of the Potomac Watershed Roundtable

Hon. Penny Gross, Chair (Fairfax County Board of Supervisors)
Hon. Woody Hynson, Vice Chair (Westmoreland County Board of Supervisors)
For a list of representatives and alternates from each member group, please contact us.

Bylaws of the Potomac Watershed Roundtable

See the Potomac Roundtable bylaws.

Legislative Items of the Potomac Watershed Roundtable

2016 Letter to Delegates and Senators
2013 Position on Uranium Mining
2012 Letter to Delegates and Senators
2011 Letter to Delegates
2010 Letter to Delegates
2008 Letter to Delegates
2007 First Letter to Delegates
2007 Second Letter to Delegates
2006 Nine Principles for state support of an Urban BMP Cost-Share Program 

2006 Letter to Delegates

Potomac Roundtable Voting Members

› Soil and Water Conservation Districts

John Marshall, Loudoun, Northern Neck, Northern Virginia, Prince William, Tri-County/City

› Counties

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Fauquier, Prince William, King George, Northumberland, Westmoreland, Stafford

› Cities & Towns

Leesburg, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, Colonial Beach, Alexandria

› Other Groups

Planning District Commission, Two Members of the Virginia General Assembly, Water & Wastewater Utilities, Environmental, Agriculture & Forestry, Fishing & Boating, Development, Construction & Real Estate, Waste Management & Recycling, Citizens of the Watershed

Non-Voting Advisory Members

Dept. of Conservation and Recreation – Division of Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance
Dept. of Conservation and Recreation – Division of Soil and Water Conservation
Dept. of Environmental Quality
Dept. of Game and Inland Fisheries
Dept. of Forestry
Virginia Cooperative Extension
Virginia Dept. of Health
Virginia Dept. of Transportation
USDA –Natural Resources Conservation Service
US Dept. of Interior
Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin